Newgy Akron Open Table Tennis Tournament

Newgy Robo-Pong


1st Samson Dubina

2nd Keith Pech

3rd-4th Don Hamilton and Darren Tang


1st Shreyans Bafna

2nd Will Lombard

3rd-4th Harry Steinberg and Sidd Khandelwal


1st Tim Brubaker

2nd Xingyi Que

3rd-4th Fuming Wu and Edward Zadrozny


1st Richard Beer

2nd Jon Thornton

3rd-4th Larry Loutzenheiser and John Byler

Table tennis players from New York, Pennsylvania, Ohio, West Virginia, and Michigan gathered at the House of the Lord gymnasium to compete for $2000 cash and prizes at the Newgy Akron Open on Saturday, June 8, 2013.  All of the events were giant round robin format with 9-10 players per group.  The top 4 players advanced from the groups to compete against other groups in the knockout stage.

In group one of the Open, Ohio State’s Liao Liang had three major upsets to advance as second behind Samson Dubina; the third and fourth advancers were Sam Gacki and Harsh Khandelwal.  In group two of the Open, twelve-year-old Keiran Pinili pulled off a major upset over Don Hamilton to become the fourth qualifier behind Keith Pech, Don, and Darren Tang.  Top seeds continued winning as Samson, Keith, Don, and Darren all won their quarterfinals matches moving to the money round; followed by Samson beating Don 4-0 and Keith beating Darren 4-1. 

The crowd was excited to see Keith (Ohio’s #2 ranked table tennis player) pull off the first game win in the Open final 11-9 over Samson (Ohio’s #1 ranked table tennis player), only to lose the next four games at 11-5, 11-4, 11-5, 11-9.  Keith was very happy with his second place finish.  He has had great success recently with remarkable results at the American’s Team Championship and other Midwest tournaments. 

The u2000 event was won by local junior Shreyans Bafna over Utica New York’s Will Lombard.  The u1600 event was won by Akron’s Tim Brubaker over Xingyi Que.  The u1200 event was won by Mansfield’s Richard Beer over Barnsville player Jon Thornton.

I want to send out a special thanks to our sponsors – Newgy, Paddle Palace, and Nittaku.  I would also like to thank The House of the Lord for use of their beautiful triple gymnasium and the large tournament committee that allowed the tournament to run in a timely fashion: Greg Thompson, Perry Wilson, Pastor Taylor, Sam Dubina, Nancy Dubina, Heather Dubina, Cathy Steel and the many scorekeepers who made it interesting for the many excited spectators.  The tournament committee is now planning to host 3 tournaments per year in Akron, Ohio featuring free meals, free snacks, and free drinks to all the players.  Our next tournament is scheduled for Friday and Saturday September 13-14, 2013.  Entry form now available at:

Samson Dubina

Add a comment

* Comments must be approved before being displayed.